Saying Hello

Say "hi" here, and any general non PIC related chat.

Saying Hello

Postby linker3000 » Thu Jun 05, 2014 4:26 am

This seems as good a place as any, soo...

Hi everyone,

I'm currently working as an 'Enterprise Support' engineer for Flash-based computer products - that means SSD (Solid State Disks) and PCI Flash cards - it's really cool to have a PCI card in my support rig with 4.8TB of flash memory on it!! Shame it's not mine to keep!

My role is to support customer deployments post-sales or during evaluations, which means I have to know the technicalities of the products, but, more importantly, how to configure the host systems (apps, networks, Windows and Linux) to run them at maximum performance and also how to tune them for various apps and environments, such as: virtualisation, databases, caching other storage etc. In previous roles I was an IT Manager for a high-tech company working on security, public address and access control systems (airports, railway stations, sports stadiums etc.) and also designing embedded systems and sensors for the automotive industry - things like all-round vision, collision avoidance etc. I wasn't doing the designing - I managed the Windows/Linux systems, comms, virtualisation, networks etc. that allowed the engineers to do their thing.

Absolutely none of that involves PICs!

My first job was as an electronics engineering apprentice, then electronics engineer, for a flight simulator company.. I got the job because electronics was my hobby - this was 1982 when I was 16. No microcontrollers there - but plenty of processors (8086/286/386) and, what was called then, Programmable Array Logic (PALs).

Along the way I also volunteered for a local 'working museum' in the radio and TV exhibition - restoring old valve TVs and radios to working condition.