OTA Upgrade PIC24

OTA Upgrade PIC24

Postby HallMark » Thu Jul 24, 2014 5:56 am

Hello,

I am new to self programming of PIC24. Basically I have SIM900D modem and my application is fully working I can send receive data with server.
Now I want to implement OTA upgrade for PIC24. For that I need to write a dedicated routine called bootloader with all SIM900D functions.
So here is my flow for that please correct me if I am wrong at any place.
I will store this dedicated routine at some starting location and allocate some flash for that, My Application code will store afterward locations and I have a dedicated Serial flash where I can store the incoming firmware.
Now my question is when I receive the new firmware(hex file) by SIM900D do I need to simply write that file from Application start location? Or I have to skip any part from hex which is actually not required to overwrite?
Configuration word is also going to be received in Hex file correct? Do I need to update them also or it is OK to leave them as it will be same in both that dedicated bootloader with GSM functions?
HallMark

Re: OTA Upgrade PIC24

Postby jtemples » Thu Jul 24, 2014 6:03 am

HallMark wrote:Now my question is when I receive the new firmware(hex file) by SIM900D do I need to simply write that file from Application start location? Or I have to skip any part from hex which is actually not required to overwrite?

You'll want to be sure that nothing in the new firmware image could overwrite the bootloader itself.

Configuration word is also going to be received in Hex file correct? Do I need to update them also or it is OK to leave them as it will be same in both that dedicated bootloader with GSM functions?

It's ok to leave them. It's actually safer to leave them since it could brick the device if the power failed while you were updating them.
jtemples
Verified identity

PIC experience: Professional 5+ years with MCHP products

Postby HallMark » Thu Jul 24, 2014 6:17 am