BOR resets on pic18f25k20

(instructions, reset, WDT, specifications...) PIC17Cxx, PIC18Fxxx

BOR resets on pic18f25k20

Postby Manx » Thu May 29, 2014 12:39 am

This board looks quiet. Hello?

I'm a pic beginner. I've used z80 before.

I had trouble with pic18f25k20 and found out it works if I turn BOR off. How important is BOR? On the z80 I never used that. Do most people use it?

I'll be back tomorrow. Thanks for any tips.
Manx

Re: BOR resets on pic18f25k20

Postby jtemples » Thu May 29, 2014 7:22 am

If it doesn't work with BOR enabled, then it most likely means you're browning out. If that's the case, it means your power supply is below the brownout voltage set in the configuration fuses (which is 1.8V by default). Look at the voltage/frequency graph in the electrical characteristics to determine whether you're running at a legal voltage.
jtemples
Verified identity

PIC experience: Professional 5+ years with MCHP products

Postby BobAGI » Thu May 29, 2014 10:35 am

Manx wrote:This board looks quiet. Hello?

This board was started a few days ago in response to the complete disaster Microchip has created when changing their own forum engine making their forum completely unreliable. It was done in March and it is still not working properly....
So this is an attempt at creating an alternate peer-2-peer forum.
How did you find this forum?
--
Bo B
Sweden & Texas
BobAGI
Verified identity

Postby Manx » Thu May 29, 2014 12:25 pm

jtemples wrote:If it doesn't work with BOR enabled, then it most likely means you're browning out. If that's the case, it means your power supply is below the brownout voltage set in the configuration fuses (which is 1.8V by default). Look at the voltage/frequency graph in the electrical characteristics to determine whether you're running at a legal voltage.