External PIC Development Tools Odyssey

This conference is open to any discussion that does not fit into the the defined categories. If a topic becomes popular enough, a new conference will be started for it.

External PIC Development Tools Odyssey

Postby JoshuaHartwig » Mon Jun 09, 2014 8:35 pm

The IDEs and compilers from Microchip work pretty well for simple C development (think small sensors and such), but they often fall short in the more specialized areas of software development in general. Join me on an odyssey to create a (mostly) free set of tools for storing, documenting, and testing code for 8-bit PIC microcontrollers.

I'm an electrical engineer by schooling but I've been programming 8-bit PIC uC's in C for the past 3 and a half years. As such, I consider myself woefully uninformed when it comes to tools outside an IDE and compiler (especially those horrible, terrible, no good command line tools where they actually make you type things ;) ). These are my struggles to find the perfect set of free tools for doing real development. Maybe some of this will eventually end up in an FAQ. However, I have no doubts that there is a better way to do these things and I've just thrown a ton of needless (but maybe not useless) effort into making the things I've found work just right. That's why this is an odyssey, not a tutorial.

A lot of pain goes into making Windows do things correctly. Linux fans, feel free to cackle as you read.

VCS Tool: Git

Sometimes, even a pebble can start a rock-slide.